The United States of YA

It’s election week, and we all know what that means: it’s time to do your patriotic duty and read.  Read about all the candidates, all the measures, and all the propositions that you are responsible for voting on.  Read far and wide, from a variety of sources.  Your final assignment is to then place your vote at your local polling place on Tuesday, November 6th.

Reading is always a patriotic act, and reading across the US map is even more patriotic.  With the help of their online community, Epic Reads created this fantastic map of YA novels.  They have found one great YA novel that is set in each one of the fifty states.

I haven’t read all of the fifty books mentioned above, but I can personally recommend the following:

Julie of the Wolves, by Jean Craighead George.  I read this book when I was in sixth grade, and I remember loving the details of Julie’s survival tactics.

Divergent, by Veronica Roth.  This dystopia story is a very fun and addicting read.  I also love that I learned some new words while reading: the word erudite has shown up in so many places since I read this book.

The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green.  John Green is the God Father of YA, and The Fault in Our Stars is his best novel yet.

If I Stay, by Gayle Foreman.  Give yourself an open period of time, perhaps a whole day, so you will not have to put this book down until you have finished reading it.  Then, make sure that you have the sequel, Where She Went, sitting right beside you in order to minimize the amount of time you have to wait for more Mia.

Devilish, by Maureen Johnson.  This isn’t my favorite Maureen Johnson novel, but she is one of my favorite authors.  I love her off-beat voice.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie.  I love that this book is honest about some very sad aspects of Junior’s life, but still maintains a tone of a little, light hope.

Can you think of any books that should have been included on this map?

Leave a Reply

